Deputy Mayor Michael Smith Elected to FCM Board

At its Annual General Meeting on May 28, 2023, the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) announced its new Board of Directors for the 2023-24 term.  Essa Township is pleased to announce that Essa's Deputy Mayor Michael Smith was elected to the FCM Board of Directors representing Ontario for the designated term.

"Essa Council and Staff are proud to announce that Deputy Mayor Michael Smith has been elected to the Federation of Canadian Municipalities Board of Directors.  Mike we wish you great success being part of a Board that will be a National Voice for Canada’s local Governments to build stronger Local Governments across Canada"  ~ Mayor Sandie Macdonald ~

FCM has been the national voice of Canada's municipal government since 1901. It is committed to championing local municipal government priorities at the national level, advocating for municipalities to ensure that their citizens' needs are reflected in federal policies and programs.  The FCM Board of Directors drives FCM's mission to advance national issues where the impacts of federal action are felt on the ground in cities and communities of all sizes.

"It’s truly an honour to have been elected to the FCM Board of directors.   At FCM, we are building partnerships to transform ideas into stronger economies and better lives for people, and I will continue to advocate on issues that matter most to both Essa residents and those across Simcoe County. The FCM Board of Directors will continue to explore what residents across the country need to move forward, for this and future generations."  ~ Deputy Mayor Michael Smith ~

Scroll to top